Infos zur Region (Info about the Region)

The Messara Plain and the Asterousia Mountains, which fall directly to the shores of the Libyan Sea, make up the region of southern Crete, where MAZI’s activities are focused. The provincial capital there is Mires.

In 2011, just under 39,000 people lived in the Messara, 5,500 in the mountains and coast. The population is stagnating as the age average increases.

Employment situation (Messara / Asterousia respectively): Agriculture 56% / 67%; Industry and commerce 10% / 6%; Service 30% / 23%. The level of education is relatively low in both regions, with 60 and 70 percent of the residents having only primary education, respectively. The total number of holdings is 10,500 at the level, against 1,800 in the mountains. Since about 1990, the number of immigrants (Albanians, Bulgarians, Russians, and more recently Asian workers) has been growing. Due to the rugged topography on the coast, the increase in tourism as a source of income is rather limited or already exhausted.

Market in Mires

The Messara is next to the Lassithi Plateau as the most fertile region in Crete. Cultivation has changed quite radically from grain to olive cultivation since the seventies of the last century. Greenhouses have increasingly displaced outdoor crops for both regions. The mountains are partly quite barren (especially in summer), in the valleys and on protected slopes are also countless olive groves to find. As cultivation area is used in the Messara 75 percent, in the mountains 30 percent. In the case of pastureland, the ratio looks the other way around: 16 percent against 60 percent (about 90,000 sheep and goats in 2000, today the number will be much higher). It is striking that the number of shepherds decreases as the number of animals increases. There are hardly any forested areas in either region (2% each).

Messara plain and Asterousia Mountains

Both regions suffer equally from environmental problems. Soil erosion and lack of water are to some extent already regarded as existentially threatening (for the water problem see separate menu item). In the mountains, some areas are already showing signs of desertification. In general, there is a certain indifference to environmental concerns. However, there are substantial approaches to rethinking here and there (see the menu items Projects).

Within the population as well as between farmers and institutions, the relationship is characterized by little mutual trust. The biggest problem in Crete, according to a resident working in an agricultural cooperative, is the fact that everyone thinks only of themselves and their own success. Community projects as well as grassroots methods (bottom-up) are therefore scarce. They all therefore deserve more support, not least as pilot projects that could go to school.

The Greek crisis is not so noticeable on the rural island as in big cities like Athens or Thessaloniki. If you take a closer look, you’ll still find a lot of closed shops and small businesses in Mires. Through self-sufficiency and family relationships can be caught here and there a lot. Ultimately, however, this is far from enough, as pensions have steadily declined, and social and work support hardly exists. The situation is also dramatic in health care.

Farming in a Melitakes cooperative

Infos zur Region (Info about the Region)

Die Messara-Ebene und das Asterousia-Gebirge, welches direkt zur Küste am Libyschen Meer herabfällt, machen jene Region in Südkreta aus, auf die sich die Aktivitäten von MAZI e.V. fokussieren. Die Provinzhauptstadt dort ist Mires.

2011 lebten in der Messara knapp 39.000 Menschen, in den Bergen samt Küste 5.500. Die Population stagniert, während der Altersdurchschnitt zunimmt.

Zur Beschäftigungssituation (jeweils Messara/Asterousia): Landwirtschaft 56%/67%; Industrie und Gewerbe 10%/6%; Dienstleistung 30%/23%. Der Bildungsstand ist in beiden Regionen recht gering, 60 respektive 70 Prozent der Bewohner haben lediglich eine Grundschulausbildung. Die Zahl der Betriebe insgesamt verteilt sich auf 10.500 in der Ebene gegen 1.800 in den Bergen. Seit Anfang der neunzehnhundertneunziger Jahre wächst die Zahl der Immigrantenarbeit (Albaner, Bulgaren, Russen, neuerdings asiatische Arbeitskräfte). Aufgrund der zerklüfteten Topographie am Meer ist die Zunahme von Tourismus als Einnahmequelle recht beschränkt beziehungsweise bereits ausgereizt.

Markttag in Mires

Die Messara gilt neben der Lassithi-Hochebene als die fruchtbarste Region auf Kreta. Der Anbau hat sich seit den siebziger Jahren des vergangenen Jahrhunderts recht radikal vom Getreide zur Olivenkultur gewandelt. Für beide Regionen gilt: Gewächshäuser haben zunehmend die Freilandkultur verdrängt. Die Berge sind teils recht karg (vor allem im Sommer), in den Tälern und an geschützten Hängen sind ebenfalls unzählige Olivenhaine zu finden. Als Anbaufläche werden genutzt in der Messara 75 Prozent, im Gebirge 30 Prozent. Beim Weideland sieht das Verhältnis umgekehrt aus: 16 Prozent gegen 60 Prozent (ca. 90.000 Schafe und Ziegen waren es 2000, heute wird die Zahl weitaus höher sein). Auffallend ist, dass bei wachsender Anzahl von Tieren die Zahl der Hirtenbetriebe zurückgeht. Bewaldete Flächen gibt es in beiden Regionen so gut wie kaum (jeweils 2 Prozent).

Messara-Ebene und Asterousia-Berge

Unter Umweltproblematiken leiden beide Regionen gleichermaßen. Bodenerosion und Wassermangel sind zum Teil bereits heute als existentiell bedrohlich zu werten (zur Wasserproblematik siehe gesonderter Menüpunkt). Im Gebirge verzeichnen einige Landstriche bereits Spuren von Desertifikation. Generell ist eine gewisse Gleichgültigkeit zu verzeichnen gegenüber Umweltbelangen. Allerdings gibt es hier und da auch substantielle Ansätze zum Umdenken (siehe dazu die Menüpunkte Projekte).

Innerhalb der Bevölkerung wie auch zwischen Landwirten und Institutionen ist das Verhältnis von wenig gegenseitigem Vertrauen geprägt. Das größte Problem auf Kreta, so ein Bewohner, der in einer landwirtschaftlichen Kooperative arbeitet, sei die Tatsache, dass jeder nur an sich und seinen eigenen Erfolg denke. Gemeinschaftliche Projekte wie auch Graswurzel-Methoden (Bottom-Up) sind entsprechend nur rar zu verzeichnen. Sie verdienen daher umso mehr Unterstützung, nicht zuletzt als Pilotprojekte, die Schule machen könnten.

Die Krise Griechenlands fällt auf der ländlich geprägten Insel nicht derart ins Auge wie in Großstädten wie Athen oder Thessaloniki. Wenn man genauer hinschaut, so entdeckt man zum Beispiel in Mires dennoch eine Menge von geschlossenen Läden und Kleinbetrieben. Durch Selbstversorgung und familiäre Zusammenhänge kann hier und da einiges aufgefangen werden. Letztlich reicht dies jedoch bei weitem nicht, da die Renten stetig gesunken sind, eine Sozial- und Arbeitsunterstützung so gut wie nicht existiert. Dramatisch ist die Lage auch in der Gesundheitsversorgung.

Landwirtschaft in der Kooperative Melitakes