Intro

Preliminary note

When MAZI e.V. was founded in autumn 2018, well over half a year of preparation time was behind us. It was important for us to hold a series of talks in the selected region of South Crete and to coordinate with the people there. As a result of these contacts, it has helped us a lot to meet people, clubs and cooperatives who have already taken over some things for themselves. This self-determined and self-organized, usually as a movement from below (grassroots principle) and with much passion.

You can not overstate such activities as they already show a certain change in your thinking. Especially in the social sector, Crete – like some parts of Greece – is still very much influenced by traditional structures, for example, in the village and family. In the agricultural sector (along with tourism as a main source of income), industrial cultivation and short-term profit markets have long shaped thinking and acting. With catastrophic consequences partly for the environment. For both areas, the view from direct self-interest to the (overarching) common and community necessities often means a tremendous leap over one’s own shadow.

A consequence of this: Without exchange and networking, education and further education in an extended framework, financial and material support can only partially help. MAZI therefore deliberately wants to make a “holistic” contribution here. And needs your support of any kind. “When many little people do many little things in many small places, they can change the face of the world,” says writer Stefan Zweig.

You can find out more about the club structure here in the submenus.

With warm regards and a Greek Jassas

Katherina Schmidt (1st chairman)

Dietmar J.A. Schulte (2nd Chairman)

Intro

Vorbemerkung

Als MAZI e.V. im Herbst 2018 gegründet wurde, lag gut ein halbes Jahr Vorbereitungszeit hinter uns. Hierbei war es uns wichtig, eine Reihe von Gesprächen in der ausgewählten Region in Südkreta zu führen und sich mit der Bevölkerung dort abzustimmen. Im Ergebnis dieser Kontakte hat es uns sehr geholfen, auf Menschen, Vereine und Kooperativen zu treffen, die Manches bereits für sich in die Hand genommen haben. Dies selbstbestimmt und selbstorganisiert, in der Regel als Bewegung von unten (Graswurzel-Prinzip) und mit viel Leidenschaft.

Man kann solche Aktivitäten nicht hoch genug einschätzen, da sie bereits ein gewisses Umdenken erkennen lassen. Gerade im sozialen Bereich ist Kreta – wie manche Teile Griechenlands – noch sehr geprägt durch traditionelle Gefüge zum Beispiel in Dorf und Familie. Im landwirtschaftlichen Sektor (neben dem Tourismus Haupteinnahmequelle) bestimmen längst industrielle Anbauweisen und kurzfristig angelegte Profitmärkte Denken und Handeln. Mit katastrophalen Folgen teils für die Umwelt. Für beide Bereiche gilt: Der Blick vom direkten Eigeninteresse auf das (übergeordnete) Gemeinsame und gemeinschaftlich Notwendige bedeutet oft einen gewaltigen Sprung über den eigenen Schatten.

Eine Konsequenz daraus: Ohne Austausch und Vernetzung, Bildung und Weiterbildung in einem erweiterten Rahmen, kann finanzielle und materielle Unterstützung nur bedingt helfen. MAZI möchte deshalb hier ganz bewusst einen „ganzheitlichen“ Beitrag leisten. Und braucht dafür Ihre wie auch immer geartete Unterstützung. „Wenn viele kleine Leute an vielen kleinen Orten viele kleine Dinge tun, können sie das Gesicht der Welt verändern“, so der Schriftsteller Stefan Zweig.

Mehr zur Vereinsstruktur können Sie hier in den Untermenüs erfahren.

Mit herzlichen Grüßen und einem griechischen Jassas

Katherina Schmidt (1. Vorsitzende)

Dietmar J.A. Schulte (2. Vorsitzender)